skip to primary navigationskip to content


Faculty Contacts

The Chief Secretary is Ms Lina Undicino.

For enquiries about undergraduate courses please contact the Undergraduate Administrator: email, telephone 01223 335151.

For enquiries about graduate courses please contact the Graduate Administrator: email, telephone 01223 335960.

Our postal address is: Faculty of Classics, University of Cambridge, Sidgwick Avenue, Cambridge CB3 9DA, UK. Directions and access information are available here.

Fax: (+44) (0)1223 335409

Questions about and corrections to this website (but not general enquiries) should be addressed to


College Contacts (Director of Studies)

Each College appoints a Director of Studies to take care of its undergraduates studying Classics. Directors of Studies arrange supervisions, and guide students through the complexities of the degree. The table below gives the names of current Directors of Studies, and the links will take you to a page with full contact details. Where the job is split, the information in brackets will tell you who is on duty in a particular term or for a particular part of the Tripos. Prospective undergraduate applicants should ordinarily approach the Director of Studies for Prelims or Part 1, if listed.

Christ’s College

Dr Caroline Vout

Churchill College

Dr Jerry Toner

Clare College

Dr Charles Weiss

Corpus Christi College

Dr Jo Willmott (Part 1A + 1B), (Part II, Michaelmas Term) & Dr Christopher Kelly (Part II, Lent Term & Easter Term)

Downing College

Dr Paul Millett

Emmanuel College

Dr Chris Whitton

Fitzwilliam College

Dr Sara Owen  

Girton College

Dr Helen Van Noorden

Gonville & Caius College

Dr Alessandro Launaro (Michaelmas Term & Lent Term), Dr Rosanna Omitowoju (Easter Term)

Homerton College

Dr Myrto Hatzimichali (Michaelmas Term), (Lent Term & Easter Term)

Hughes Hall

Dr Jerry Toner

Jesus College

Prof. James Clackson

King's College

Prof. Robin Osborne (Prelim, Part 1A +1B), Dr Rosanna Omitowoju (Part 11)

Lucy Cavendish College

Dr John Patterson (Michaelmas Term & Lent Term), Dr Philippa Steele (Easter Term)

Magdalene College

Dr John Patterson (Michaelmas Term & Lent Term), Dr Philippa Steele (Easter Term)

Murray Edwards College

Dr Hannah Willey (Prelim,  Part 1A + 1B, and in Lent Term Part II) & Dr Francesca Middleton (Part II in Michaelmas Term and Easter Term)

Newnham College

Dr Emily Kneebone (Prelims, Part 1A + 1B), (Part II)

Pembroke College

Dr Torsten Meissner


Dr Philip Pattenden (

Queens' College

Dr David Butterfield (Lent Term & Easter Term), (Michaelmas Term)

Robinson College

Dr Rosanna Omitowoju

St. Catharine's College

Dr Siobhan Chomse (Michaelmas Term), Dr Robert Wardy (Lent Term & Easter Term)

St. Edmund's College

Dr Tiziana D'Angelo (Michaelmas Term & Easter Term)

St. John's College

Prof. Tim Whitmarsh

Selwyn College

Dr Rupert Thompson (Michaelmas Term), (Lent Term & Easter Term)

Sidney Sussex College

Dr Yannis Galanakis (Lent Term & Easter Term), (Michaelmas Term)

Trinity College

Dr Neil Hopkinson

Trinity Hall

Dr Elena Giusti

Wolfson College

Dr Philippa Steele

Upcoming events

Ancient Philosophy Seminar

Jan 19, 2017


Literature Seminar

Jan 25, 2017

Faculty of Classics, Room 1.04

Ancient Philosophy Seminar

Jan 26, 2017


Upcoming events

RSS Feed Latest news

Understanding Relations Between Scripts II: Early Alphabets

Jan 05, 2017

21-22 March 2017. This conference, the second in the Understanding Relations Between Scripts series, focuses on the development of alphabetic writing systems in the later second and earlier first millennia BC.

'The Impact of the Ancient City': PhD Studentship

Dec 02, 2016

Applications are invited for a 3-year fully-funded PhD studentship in the context of the ERC Advanced Grant project, 'The Impact of the Ancient City', supervised by Professor Andrew Wallace-Hadrill.

Mary Beard addresses Italian parliament

Nov 24, 2016

Mary Beard addresses the Italian parliament (Camera dei Deputati) on the subject of violence against women in Ancient and Modern times, Rome 22 November 2016.

Curator (Maternity Cover)

Nov 18, 2016

The Museum of Classical Archaeology is seeking to appoint a temporary Curator from February 2017. See the Jobs and Vacancies page for further information.

View all news